GHBA “Remodeler of the Year” Awarded to Wayne Ball

GHBA “Remodeler of the Year” Awarded to Wayne Ball, Lone Star President

Greater Houston Builders Association Honors Year’s Best

The “best of 2008” were honored at the February 2009 GHBA board of directors meeting at the GHBA offices. The guest of honor list was headed by incoming GHBA President Lisa Clark, vice president of Ryko Development, who was installed along with her 2009 Executive Committee and board of directors.

GHBA staff and members congratulate this year’s builder, associate, developer and remodeler of the year award recipients.

“Congratulations to the 2008 recipients of these prestigious awards,” said 2009 GHBA president, Lisa Clark. “Each of these winners upholds high standards for themselves and our association and every one of them remains heavily involved on the local, state and national level. They contribute countless hours and expertise to the advancement and visibility of our industry. It is through the hard work and dedication of members like these who keep the GHBA and the building industry strong and thriving. I thank each and every one of them for all that they do.”

The Remodeler of the Year Award was presented to Wayne Ball, CAPS, CGR of Lone Star Building & Construction Services Inc. This award is presented to a GHBA remodeler and active member who upholds the highest standards and credentials for both himself and the Remodelers Council. Wayne has been in business for more than 30 years. He was instrumental in the success of the RMC earning $10,000 at the council’s first annual garage sale. He is the vice president of RMC and has been active in the council for 18 years.

The Production Builder of the Year 2008 was awarded to Don Klein of Chesmar Homes. Don has donated the construction of three homes for GHBA’s annual Benefit Homes Project. In his position as chairman of the project over the course of two years, he has been part of many record-setting events, including the most funds awarded to the charities in the 28-year history of the project. Another record was the recent sale of Chesmar’s third Benefit Home (2009). That home was sold before the ceremonial groundbreaking.

Custom Builder of the Year 2008 was awarded to Jennifer Arriaga Custom Homes. Jennifer has been active on the Strategic Planning Committee for 2008 and 2009. She is also a TAB director and past president of the Custom Builders Council.

Developer of the Year 2008 was presented to Roy Behrens with Mischer Investments, LP. Roy has been a longstanding and hardworking member of the Developers Council for many years. He is committed to his profession as he quietly works within the industry with an uncompromising level of professionalism. Roy has been with Mischer Investments for 25 years and has completed more than 30 developments in and around the Houston Area. Roy has been active not only within the GHBA but also in Harris County, actively participating in the Harris County Momentum and Landscaping task force, as well as representing the Community Developers Council on the Harris County Frontier Drainage Committee.

C.S. “Bud” Inscho Associate of the Year Award is given to the associate member who has contributed greatly and with consistency over the years to the success of the GHBA. It was with honor that Brian Binash presented this award to Suzi Haynie, CGA, CSP, CGB, with StrucSure Home Warranty. She is a TAB director, an NAHB director, and has served multiple years on the GHBA board of directors. Suzi is also active in the Associates’ Council.